The Teagle Foundation Announces Two Planning Grant Awards to the Yes We Must Coalition.

The first award is for the “Faculty Planning and Curricular Coherence” initiative. The members involved are College of Saint Elizabeth, Metropolitan College of New York, Trocaire College, Martin Methodist College, and Heritage University. Teams of faculty from these schools will work collaboratively for nine months to develop a multi-year implementation grant to produce more coherent, streamlined, efficient pathways to graduation for their students.

The second award is for "Collaborating to Educate Business Students in a Liberal Arts Context", part of the Foundation's Integrating Liberal Arts into the Professions initiative. The four Yes We Must member schools that will work together on this grant are Bacone College, College of Saint Elizabeth, Coker College and Keuka College. Their work will result in a multi-year implementation proposal that will be submitted to The Teagle Foundation at the end of the 8-month planning process.

The Yes We Must Coalition is grateful for the support of The Teagle Foundation for these collaborative projects.

Read more >


B-CU Welcomes Its First ‘Yes We Must’ Coalition Student Ambassador

Bethune-Cookman University Newsroom

B-CU has welcomed exchange student, Ananya Kadir, to the Wildcat family for the 2016 fall semester. Ananya comes to B-CU from the College of Saint Elizabeth (CSE) located in Morristown, New Jersey. Kadir was selected by her home school and the ‘Yes We Must’ Coalition (YWMC), where students are given the opportunity to gain exposure to new academic and personal experiences through semester exchanges.  

Read more >


TU participates in Yes We Must Institute

Thomasville Times-Enterprise
November 19, 2015

Four representatives from Thomas University were among attendees representing 39 colleges and universities at the 2015 Yes We Must Coalition Institute held Nov. 11-13 in Roanoke, Virginia. Funding for the institute was provided by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

 Representing Thomas University were Dr. Gary Bonvillian, President; Dr. Ann Landis, Provost and Executive Vice President; Dr. Jill Dennis, Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management and Marketing: and David Barnett, Director of Career Services and Instructor of Rehabilitation Studies. Bonvillian is one of the founding directors of the YWMC.

Read more >

Trocaire College Representatives Attend YWMC Institute

by Kristy Kibler, Trocaire College
November 14, 2015

Dr. Richard Linn, Jackie Matheny, Ed Johnson and Jennifer Blickwedehl represented Trocaire at the Yes We Must Coalition Institite Nov. 11-13, 2015, in Roanoke, Virginia. The event was focused on setting up collaborative projects between member institiutions to better serve our students. The YWMC is a group of more than 35 small, private, non-profit colleges and universities that serve primarily low-income, first generation students.

The Yes We Must Coalition Has Received a Grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
to Support Our First Institute for Members

The Yes We Must Coalition is pleased to announce that we have received a grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation to support our first Institute for members, Collaborating To Fulfill Our Responsibility to the New Student Majority, to be held November 11-13 at the Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center in Roanoke, VA.  The grant secures the original vision for the Institute—bringing together 4-member teams from YWM institutional members to work together to develop collaborative projects to benefit the low-income students we serve.

Read more >