2014 National Conference Highlights

2014 National Conference

On April 23–25, 2014 the Yes We Must Coalition sponsored its first national conference “Fulfilling Our Responsibility: Higher Education for the New Student Majority.” One hundred and forty people attended and contributed to the success of the conference.

We thank our sponsors for their support.




Highlights from the Conference

Keynote Speaker: Vincent Tinto, Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, Syracuse University.  Download presentation pdf: Student Success Arises One Class at a Time

Panel Discussions

2014 National Conference
Session I: Starting the Journey to Success  (download presentation pdf)

Above l-r: Ginger Rodriguez, English Faculty and Grant Writer, Calumet College of St. Joseph; Hilary Joy Virtanen, Assistant Professor of Finnish Studies and Coordinator of the Sisu Seminar, Finlandia University; Carol Sitterly, Dean for Academic Success, American International College;Jack Gregory, Dean of Students, Martin Methodist University; Kimberly Dunnavant, Director of Online Learning, Martin Methodist College; Jason Umfress, Associate Provost and Dean of Students, Coker College; Moderator: Mablene Krueger, Provost, Robert Morris University-Illinois

2014 National Conference
Session II: YWM Presidents Discuss Mission, Money and Institutional Success

Above l-r: Moderator: *Gloria Nemerowicz, President, Yes We Must Coalition; Vincent Maniaci, American International College; Gary Dill, University of the Southwest; Andrew Sund, St. Augustine College; Gary Bonvillian, Thomas University; Ann McElaney-Johnson, Mount St. Mary’s College; David Fike, Marygrove College; Vinton Thompson, Metropolitan College of New York

2014 National Conference
Session III: Students and Recent Alums

Above l-r: Moderator: Ann Landis, Executive Vice President and Provost, Thomas University; Claudia Alcantara ’14, St. Augustine College; Salvador Perez ’93, St. Augustine College; Michael D’Ambrosio ’10, Robert Morris University-Illinois; Cassandra Petrusevski ’11, Robert Morris University-Illinois; Ka’Ron Cooper ’15, Marygrove College; Spencer Richardson-Moore ’14, Marygrove College

2014 National Conference
Session IV: Promising Practices in Teaching and Learning — Measuring and Strengthening Skills for College Success  (download presentation pdf)

Above l-r: Moderator: Nia Lane Chester, Research Associate, Yes We Must Coalition; Jeffrey Parsons, Director of Teaching and Technology Effectiveness, Lindsey Wilson College; Carolyn McClenny, Division Chair; Assistant Professor of Developmental Studies, Thomas University; Scott Yarbrough, Assistant to the Vice President for Compliance/Retention/Assessment and Chair, Department of English, Charleston Southern University; Jeana Abromeit, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Graduate Studies, Alverno College

2014 National Conference
Session V: Promising Practices in Teaching and Learning—Intentional Learning Approaches in and beyond the Classroom  (download presentation pdf)

Above l-r: Gail Summer, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Ferrum College; Anthony Santamaria, Director of General Education and Chair of the Philosophy and Theology Program, College of Saint Elizabeth; Humphrey Crookendale, Dean, School for Public Affairs and Administration, Metropolitan College of New York; Bernadette Robert, Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs, Mount St. Mary’s College; Moderator: Nia Lane Chester (not pictured), Research Associate, Yes We Must Coalition

2014 National Conference
Luncheon and National Policy Updates

Above l-r: Gary Bonvillian, President, Thomas University; Mary Wall, Senior Policy Advisor for Higher Education to the Secretary and Under Secretary at the U.S. Department of Education; Robert Kelchen, Assistant Professor of Higher Education, Seton Hall University, and Methodologist Consultant to _Washington Monthly ; Kim Cook, Executive Director, National College Access Network

2014 National Conference
Session VI: Educational Funders Discuss Priorities and Partnering

Above l-r: Moderator: Gloria Nemerowicz, President, Yes We Must Coalition; Chera Reid, Program Officer, The Kresge Foundation; Sheri Ranis, Strategy Director, Lumina Foundation

2014 National Conference
Session VII: Shifting the Culture and Practice of Academe  (download presentation pdf)

Above l-r: Judy Mansfield, Faculty, Mathematics, Heritage University; Mablene Krueger, Provost, Robert Morris University-Illinois; Summer Jackson, Director: Undergraduate Enrollment, Union College; Tara Knudson-Carl, Vice President for Student Development/​Special Assistant to the President, College of Saint Mary; Lee Maltby, Dean of Instruction, St. Augustine College; Moderator: Kathleen Ross, Director, Institute for Student Identity and Success and President Emerita, Heritage University

Tom MortensonJoan Osterwell

Closing Remarks: Tom Mortenson (above left), Senior Scholar, The Pell Institute for the Study of Opportunity in Higher Education, and Independent Higher Education Policy Analyst
Above right: Joan Osterweil, Associate Member
Download presentation pdf: Demography 101: The Growing Low Income Population


More than 20 posters were presented illustrating specific practices to support the success of low-income students. Click here to link to list of posters.

In the News

Two articles about the conference appeared in the Chronicle of Higher Education:

Colleges Share Strategies That Help Disadvantaged Students Succeed
By Katherine Mangan, April 24, 2014

White House Adviser Reassures Small Colleges About Ratings Plan
By Katherine Mangan, April 24, 2014